CERN in a nutshell

What is CERN ?

CERN is the world's largest particle physics laboratory. Thousands of scientists from all over the world work together here to advance our knowledge of matter, its fundamental constituents and the forces that link them. Founded in 1954, CERN was one of the first European collaborations, uniting countries that had been fighting against one another during the Second World War. The number of Member States has now grown to 22. As it pursues its fundamental research, CERN pushes technological boundaries, trains countless scientists and, through the medium of science, contributes to the dialogue between nations. More information >>.

How does CERN work ?

CERN is a European organisation governed by a Council of Member State representatives. The Council sets the Organization's policy and is assisted by the Scientific Policy Committee and the Finance Committee. The Council appoints, for a five-year term, a Director-General who is responsible for implementing the Council's decisions and managing the Laboratory. The Director-General, currently Dr. Fabiola GIANOTTI, is assisted by a Directorate. More information >>

What equipment does CERN use?

Physicists use three main types of tool to carry out their research: accelerators, detectors and computers. Accelerators are powerful machines designed to accelerate particles to extremely high energies, causing them to smash into one another. CERN operates a complex consisting of several accelerators, the most powerful of which is the LHC (Large Hadron Collider), a ring 27 kilometres in circumference and buried 100 metres underground. Detectors are high-precision instruments that record data concerning the particles created during the collisions. The scientists then try to make sense of these collisions with the help of cutting-edge computing technology that collates, stores and analyses the data recorded by the detectors.

Who works at CERN?

CERN employs around 2 500 people – European civil servants from the 21 Member States – but its installations are available for use by research institutes all over the world. In total, almost 11 000 scientists of 100 different nationalities use CERN’s machines. The Laboratory also hosts several hundred students, fellows, apprentices and scientists seconded from other institutes. More information about working at CERN >>

What impact does CERN have on society?

CERN provides work, either directly or indirectly, for more people than any other international organisation in Geneva. The construction and maintenance of its installations is entrusted to commercial firms from the Member States, many of which are based in the local region. Also, the technologies developed to meet CERN's research needs benefit society as a whole. In addition to the invention of the Web, CERN's commitment to technology transfer  has driven progress in medical imaging and cancer treatment, industrial processes, information technologies and more.

Who owns the CERN sites?

CERN’s fenced sites (those that are in use) have a total surface area of 200 hectares – 80 in Switzerland and 120 in France – and a further 400 hectares have been made available by the Organization's two Host States. CERN plans to use this land for future projects; in the meantime, they remain either farmland or woodland. The money earned from renting this land to farmers is used to finance projects benefiting the public, such as cycle paths and fitness trails. These funds are managed by a CERN-Pays de Gex Consultation Committee, chaired by the sous-préfet of the Ain and also comprising a CERN representative, a farmers’ representative and the mayors of the communes concerned (Prévessin-Moëns, Saint-Genis-Pouilly and Cessy).

Why does CERN's name include the world 'nuclear'?

CERN was founded in 1954, when the main goal of fundamental physics research was to understand the centre of the atom, i.e. the nucleus, which is where the word ‘nuclear’ comes from. CERN's research, though, has nothing to do with nuclear energy or its applications. Today, since our understanding of matter goes beyond the nucleus of the atom, CERN can more accurately be described as the “European Laboratory for Particle Physics” – a name that we do sometimes use. More information >>

Who funds CERN's research?

CERN’s 21 Member States each pay a contribution to the CERN budget (which totalled 1 240 million Swiss francs in 2013). In addition, special contributions are made to specific projects by the Host States and by non-Member States wishing to be involved in particular areas of research. This is the case for the LHC. The majority of CERN’s budget is spent on the construction of its enormous scientific installations, which are available for use by all the participating countries. The costs of these machines are far more than one single country could afford. In addition, more than 600 institutes around the world work together to conduct experiments using CERN’s facilities, and these experiments are funded by the participating institutes.

Does CERN recruit?

Yes. While CERN’s workforce remains stable at around 2 400 full-time-equivalent members of personnel, vacancies are regularly advertised for posts in various fields, both technical and administrative. More information >>

Why do we sometimes see clouds of white smoke above the CERN sites?

The white clouds that you can sometimes see above the CERN sites come from one of two sources. They can come from the traditional cooling towers that are used to cool electrical power installations, for example, in which case the cloud is just water vapour. In other cases, they come from the LHC accelerator’s cooling system. In order to operate in a superconducting state, the LHC has to be cooled to -271°C. The first step in the cooling process involves introducing liquid nitrogen to cool the helium that will eventually circulate in the underground accelerator. During this process, the helium transfers its heat to the nitrogen, which thereby transforms from a liquid state to a gaseous state before being released into the atmosphere. The resultant cooling of the ambient air can momentarily create mist. This phenomenon is not at all dangerous since nitrogen is the main constituent of the air that we breathe, which is 78% nitrogen and 21% oxygen.

More information about CERN and the environment.

Why is the LHC underground?

The LHC uses the tunnel that was built to house CERN’s previous large accelerator, the LEP, which was dismantled in 2000. Digging an underground tunnel proved to be the best option for a 27-km machine, since it’s cheaper than acquiring land to build on at the surface and the impact on the landscape is minimised. In addition, the Earth’s crust provides good shielding against radiation.

Can the LHC's magnetic fields be dangerous?

Not at all. It is true that the magnetic fields created by the LHC machine and its experiments are very intense, but they are localised and contained. The machine's magnetic field is especially well contained within the accelerator. Even in the case of the experiments, the intensity of the field is very weak just a few metres away, and it decreases exponentially with distance. Since the magnetic fields are produced 100 metres underground, they are undetectable on the surface.

You are here

Le CERN en bref

Qu'est-ce que le CERN ?

Le CERN est le plus grand laboratoire de physique des particules du monde. Des milliers de scientifiques des quatre coins du globe y collaborent pour faire progresser les connaissances sur la matière, ses constituants élémentaires et les forces qui les relient. Fondé en 1954, le CERN fut l’une des premières collaborations européennes, rassemblant des pays qui s’étaient combattus lors de la seconde guerre mondiale. Il compte aujourd’hui 22 Etats membres. En menant ses recherches fondamentales, le CERN repousse les limites des technologies, forme de nombreux scientifiques et participe au dialogue des nations au travers de la science. Pour en savoir plus >>

Comment fonctionne le CERN ?

Le CERN est une organisation européenne gouvernée par un conseil où siègent les représentants des Etats membres. Le Conseil détermine la politique de l'organisation et est assisté dans sa tâche par le Comité des directives scientifiques et le Comité des finances. Le Conseil nomme pour cinq ans un Directeur général, actuellement le Dr. Fabiola GIANOTTI, chargée de mettre en oeuvre les décisions du Conseil et d'administrer le Laboratoire. Il est assisté par un Directoire. Pour en savoir plus >>

Quels sont les instruments du CERN ?

Pour réaliser leurs recherches, les physiciens utilisent trois grands types d'outils : des accélérateurs, des détecteurs et des ordinateurs. Les accélérateurs sont de puissantes machines destinées à accélérer des particules jusqu'à de très hautes énergies, dans le but de les faire entrer en collision. Le CERN exploite un complexe de plusieurs accélérateurs dont le plus puissant est le LHC (Grand collisionneur de hadrons), un anneau de 27 km de circonférence, enfoui à 100 mètres sous terre. Les détecteurs sont des instruments extrêmement précis qui enregistrent les particules créées au cours des collisions. Pour comprendre ces collisions, les scientifiques ont besoin d'une informatique de pointe qui collecte, stocke et analyse toutes les données enregistrées par les détecteurs.

Qui travaille au CERN ?

Le CERN emploie environ 2 500 personnes, des fonctionnaires européens issus des 21 Etats membres. Mais il met ses installations à disposition d’instituts de recherche du monde entier. Près de 11 000 scientifiques de 100 nationalités utilisent ainsi ses outils. Le laboratoire accueille par ailleurs plusieurs centaines d'étudiants, boursiers, apprentis et scientifiques détachés. Pour en savoir plus sur le recrutement au CERN >>

Quelles sont les retombées du CERN ?

Le CERN est l'organisation internationale présente à Genève faisant travailler, directement ou indirectement, le plus grand nombre de personnes. La construction et la maintenance des installations du CERN impliquent des entreprises de ses Etats membres, dont de nombreuses dans la région. Les technologies développées pour les besoins des recherches du CERN bénéficient à la société dans son ensemble. Outre l'invention du Web, le CERN fait progresser au travers de transferts de technologies l'imagerie médicale et la thérapie des cancers, des procédés industriels, des technologies de l'information, etc.

Pourquoi le nom du CERN comporte-t-il l'adjectif nucléaire ?

Le CERN a été fondé en 1954, à une époque où la recherche en physique fondamentale avait pour principal objectif la compréhension de l’intérieur de l’atome, c’est-à-dire du noyau, d’où l’emploi du qualificatif « nucléaire ». Pour autant, les recherches du CERN ne portent pas du tout sur l'énergie nucléaire, ni sur les applications qui en découlent. Notre compréhension de la matière allant aujourd'hui au-delà du noyau de l'atome, le CERN devrait s'appeler « Laboratoire européen pour la physique des particules », nom qu'on lui donne parfois. Pour en savoir plus >>

A qui appartiennent les sites du CERN ?

La superficie des sites clôturés (ceux qui sont utilisés) est de 200 hectares (80 hectares en Suisse et 120 hectares en France) ; 400 hectares ont été de surcroît mis à disposition par les deux pays hôtes du CERN. Ces terrains sont en prévision des futurs projets du CERN. En attendant, ils sont soit cultivés, soit boisés. Les fonds issus de la location des terrains aux agriculteurs servent à financer des projets d’utilité publique comme une piste cyclable, un parcours santé, etc. Ces fonds sont gérés par un Comité Consultatif CERN-Pays de Gex, présidé par le Sous-préfet de l'Ain, et composé d’un représentant du CERN, d’un représentant des agriculteurs et des maires de communes concernées (Prévessin-Moëns, Saint-Genis-Pouilly et Cessy).

Qui paie les recherches menées au CERN ?

Les 21 Etats membres du CERN contribuent au budget du CERN (1 240 millions de francs suisses en 2013). Des contributions spéciales sont données dans le cadre de projets spécifiques par les pays hôtes ou des Etats non membres qui souhaitent être associés à certaines recherches. C'est le cas pour l'accélérateur LHC. Le CERN consacre la majeure partie de ses investissements à la construction d’immenses instruments scientifiques qu'il met à disposition de tous les pays participants. Ces investissements seraient hors de la portée d'un pays seul. En outre, plus de 600 instituts du monde entier collaborent pour réaliser des expériences sur les machines du CERN. Ces expériences sont financées par les instituts participants.

Le CERN recrute-t-il ?

Oui. Si l’effectif du CERN reste stable, avec environ 2 400 membres du personnel équivalents temps plein, des postes sont régulièrement à pourvoir dans de nombreux domaines, techniques ou administratifs. Pour en savoir plus >>

Pourquoi y-a-t-il parfois des nuages de fumée blanche au-dessus des sites du CERN ?

Les nuages blancs que l'on peut parfois apercevoir au dessus des sites du CERN ont deux provenances. Ils peuvent provenir de tours traditionnelles de refroidissement, pour les installations électriques de puissance par exemple. Dans ce cas, il s'agit simplement de vapeur d'eau. Ils peuvent également provenir du refroidissement de l'accélérateur LHC. En effet, pour fonctionner à l'état supraconducteur, le LHC a besoin d'être refroidi à -271°C. La première étape du refroidissement fait intervenir de l'azote liquide pour refoidir de l'hélium qui va, au final, circuler dans l’accélérateur en souterrain. Au cours de ce processus, l’hélium transfère sa chaleur à l’azote, qui passe donc de l’état liquide à l’état gazeux avant d’être relâché dans l’atmosphère. Le refroidissement engendré sur l’air ambiant peut alors créer une brume momentanée. Ce phénomène est absolument inoffensif car l’azote est le premier constituant de l’air que nous respirons, composé à 78% d’azote et à 21% d’oxygène.

Plus d'informations sur le CERN et l'environnement.

Pourquoi le LHC est-il enterré ?

Le LHC réutilise le tunnel construit pour le LEP, le précédent grand accélérateur du CERN, démantelé en 2000. Creuser un tunnel est apparu comme la meilleure solution pour installer une machine de 27 km de circonférence. En effet, creuser un tunnel coûte moins cher que d’acquérir du terrain pour bâtir en surface, et l’impact sur le paysage est réduit au minimum. De plus, l’écorce terrestre fournit une protection efficace contre les rayonnements.

Les champs magnétiques du LHC peuvent-ils être dangereux ?

Pas du tout. Les champs magnétiques créés par le LHC et ses expériences sont certes très intenses, mais localisés et confinés. La machine particulièrement confine son champ dans l’accélérateur. Même pour les expériences, à quelques mètres, l’intensité de champ détectée est très faible. Cette intensité décroit avec le carré de la distance. Les champs étant créés à 100 mètres sous terre, on ne détecte rien en surface.

You are here